Cherry Banana Bread with Nutella Swirls

I had every intention of making this banana cherry nutella bread for World Nutella day but for whatever reason the day got away from me and then a week and then well….it was three weeks too late.  I don’t know where the time went but nutella is so darn good that it really doesn’t need a special day to be eaten or baked into a yummy banana cherry bread.

I found the Banana Nutella bread recipe from Barbara Bakes.  I made a few changes by adding 1/2 cup of dried tart cherries and replaced the sour cream with non-fat greek yogurt (Fage) to lighten it a bit more!  Results?  Gooey nutella swirls, plump tart cherries and a mello banana flavor.  A hit for sure.

1 cup mashed ripe bananas (about three small)
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup low fat sour cream ( I used Fage Zero yougurt)
1/4 cup butter, melted
2 eggs

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t. baking soda
1/4 t. salt

1/2 cup Nutella

Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl; beat at medium speed of an electric mixer until well blended. Combine flour and next 3 ingredients; Add flour mixture to banana mixture, stirring just until moistened.

Spoon 1/2 batter into an 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 x 3-inch loaf pan coated with baking spray with flour. Add 1/4 cup Nutella in dollops. Swirl a bit then top again with remaining batter. Add another 1/4 cup Nutella in dollops on top. Swirl again.

Bake at 350º for 1 hour and 5 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pan on a wire rack; remove from pan, and cool completely on a wire rack. Bake mini loaves for 35 minutes or muffins for 18 minutes.

Linked to Tatertots and Jello, I’m Lovin it Friday, Friday Potluck, Family Friendly Friday, Fat Camp Friday, Fun with Food Friday, Food Trip Friday, Foodie Friday, Food on Friday, Saturday Swap, Simply Sweet Home, Katie’s Cucina, Sweet Tooth Friday, Friday Favorites, Feature Yourself Friday, Whipperberry Friday Flair, Recipe Swap Thursday, Frugal Friday, Sweet Saturday, Recipes I Can’t Wait to Try

22 responses to “Cherry Banana Bread with Nutella Swirls

  1. Cherries are the perfect addition to this bread. So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for linking to my recipe!

  2. bj

    Great Balls of Fire, woman…this looks BEAUTIFUL. What great photos…and what a subject!! YUMMMM-MEEE….this sounds so good.
    Thanks for sharing it…
    xo bj

  3. I love banana bread! This sounds like a great twist.

    Thanks for linking up with Sweet Tooth Friday!

  4. I like banana bread, and yours looks really delicious!

  5. Carole

    This is one I will be making for sure. All my favs….. banana, cherries, Nutella. Thanks for sharing.

  6. You had me at nutella ~
    Another friday’s favorite for sure:-)

  7. This makes such a stunning presentation! And I think Nutella was the perfect choice for this one!! 🙂

  8. Oh! I think I might faint! That looks sooooooo good. If there’s Nutella, I’m in!

    I may have to modify it, however, as I’ve discovered that for some strange reason, I’m allergic to bananas (and mango). But I’m guessing I can just make a simple quick bread base without the banana. I’ll experiment.

    So glad you linked this to Food on Fridays!

  9. you won my heart already with nutella…:) and it really looks and sounds delicious! thanks for sharing! have a great week! 🙂

  10. Oh my gosh!! Another amazing recipe (Im a growing fan of yours 🙂
    Hoping you will share this recipe at Seasonal Sundays!

    Have a WONDERFUL week!
    xo- Brittany

  11. Oh my – the title hooked me, and the photos pulled me in !! I’m book marking this one for sure!

    Thanks so much for posting the recipe and great pics.

    🙂
    ButterYum

  12. amy

    Oh my…this cherry banana bread with nutella swirls looks delicious! I love the flavor combination in this bread.

    I’m hosting the Culinary Smackdown Battle for March–the theme is Cookies. Would you like to join in for the fun? It doesn’ have to be a new post on your blog. You can pick your favorite cookie from your previous post too. All you have to do is link up your cookie creation. I have some great prizes waiting. Hope to see your entry soon!

    Amy
    http://utry.it/2011/03/culinary-smackdown-battlecookies.html

  13. Oh, this sounds so good! I’ve never had Nutella but I’m seeing so many recipes with it, I really need to try it. I found you at EKat’s Friday Potluck and wanted to invite you to link your MOST POPULAR recipe so far in our Star Recipes Collection. We also have a regular Monday linky party, Make a Food-“e”-Friend Monday, which I’d love for you to contribute any recipe you’d like when you can (can never be too many great recipes, right?!) Love your blog!

  14. WOW! I first discovered Nutella 12 years ago when I was in Australia and the love affair has never ended. This recipe looks AAAAAAAAAAmazing… and I love it! Thank you SO much for linking up with Friday Potluck this week! nomnomnom

  15. This looks wonderful! Thanks for linking up for Friday Favorites! I’m featuring you this week! Come grab my featured button if you’d like one!

  16. At the risk of sounding redundant, that is absolutely beautiful. Almost looks too pretty to eat. Almost.

    Very interesting combination – sounds worth trying.

    I’m visiting from Recipes I Can’t Wait to Try.

  17. What an absolutely flavor packed loaf of bread. Thanks for linking this up to Sweets for a Saturday.

  18. This looks delish! Such a pretty bread too! This is definitely something that I’d like to try. Thanks for linking up on Recipes I Can’t Wait to Try! If you haven’t already, stop back by my blog and enter the giveaway! =)

  19. Oh, this looks fabulous! I like the pumpkin idea too but can’t get canned pumpkin in Australia, whereasy cherries + chocolate = always a winner 🙂

  20. I made this and loved it!!! I wanted you to know that I just posted about it in my Your Recipe My Kitchen post today. Stop by and see!
    danielle

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

{Random food and photos}
