Cherry, Chocolate and Orange {HEART} Scones

I {HEART} these orange, cherry and chocolate scones! Gooey chocolate, chewy cherries, orange zest and cocoa base.  Oh my…these have moved to the top of the scone list!  A keeper for sure!

Really easy, really tasty and a perfect breakfast for a lazy sunday morning. Pop them in the oven, a cup (or two) of espresso, a lazy morning and best of all, an easy breakfast in bed!

And, with Valentine’s Day tomorrow I just couldn’t resist cutting them into hearts.  Too cute.

Cherries…

Cherries by John Loo

Chocolate Chips…

Choco Chips By Ayelie

Oranges…

Oranges

Inspired by Bon Appetit, 2/2002.

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, chilled and cubed
  • 1/2 cup miniature dark chocolate chip
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried cherries
  • 3 tablespoons orange juice

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Spray a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. With a pastry blender or a large fork, cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in the chocolate chips. Mix in the orange juice to form a dough.
  3. Turn out the dough on a floured surface. Pat or roll into a 9 inch circle about 1/2 inch thick. With a 2 1/2 inch fluted biscuit cutter, cut out 12 scones, pushing the dough scraps together for the last few, if necessary. Transfer the scones to the baking sheet.

Heart Scones Ready for Baking

  1. Bake in preheated oven until golden brown, about 12 minutes. Move to wire racks to cool.

Add a little mint, a chocolate square and serve!

Melting chocolate, chewy cherries, zest of the oranges…I could eat these every day!

Linked to:

Cookbook SundaysRecipe Swap SundaySeaside Valentine’s PartyPotluck SundaySundays at One, Not Baaad Sundays, Saturday Swap, Sweet Saturday, Seasonal Sundays, Mouthwatering Mondays, Sumos Sweet Stuff, Something I Whipped Up, Sweet and Savory, Made By You Monday, Your Recipe, My Kitchen, This Weeks Craving.

{Some Photos Creative Commons Attribution 3.0}

14 responses to “Cherry, Chocolate and Orange {HEART} Scones

  1. Brittany @Real Sustenance

    I LOVE scones.. and my mother loves them even more than I do!
    Sending this recipe her way! 🙂 as it looks SO good- and the heart shape just sends them over the top.

    Wanted to invite you to share them at a weekly event I host titled Seasonal Sundays- they fit the theme PERFECTLY 🙂

    Happy Sundays (ps. Happy I found your blog 🙂
    -Brittany-

  2. Your heart-shaped scones are too cute and perfect for Valentine’s Day. What a fantastic combination of flavours. Thank you so much for sharing these with Cookbook Sundays. I hope you’ll come back next month!

  3. P.S. Your scones look so good, I’ve shared them on Twitter!

  4. What a fresh, yummy combination of ingredients. I can’t wait until our trees (hopefully plural, but we’ll see – there were some fungus-type shenanigans last spring) start producing cherries again.

  5. That is a wonderful combination in a scone. Sounds so tasty.

  6. What an incredible combo of flavors! I can’t wait to try these!!! Thanks so much for linking to Saturday Swap…

  7. These are so cute! Love the combination of flavors.

    I’m hosting a weekly link up for sweet-inspired recipes. I hope you stop by and link up. http://alli-n-son.com/2011/02/17/chocolate-chip-toffee-bars/

  8. YUM! And your photography is really terrific! Thanks so much for linking up to my Valentine’s Party! 🙂

  9. These look and sound wonderful! I wish I would have dropped by earlier. I actually had all the ingedients and would have made the heart-shapes for Valentine’s Day. What a fun idea! Excited to see what other recipes you have. I always love trying new recipes. I will admit, I can cook better than I can bake. I keep trying though. 🙂
    Thanks and happy Monday! Julie

  10. Oh, I did not see where to follow you through GFC so I linked up through Twitter and Facebook. 🙂 Thanks!

  11. OHHHHHH, these look great! Thanks for coming back with an AWESOME cherry recipe!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

{Random food and photos}
