Seduced By Chocolate ~ Quadruple Chocolate Cake

Photo by EverJean

They say a picture is worth a thousand words and well, when it comes to chocolate, I think they are right.

Photo by EverJean

Chocolate…glorious chocolate!

Mexico Chocolate by EverJean

…chocolate!

Photo by EverJean

All of this chocolate does lead somewhere…..to a dreamy decadent quadruple chocolate loaf cake!

Cocoa, chocolate chips, chocolate syrup and chocolate shavings…this is what chocolate dreams are made of!

What else can I say?  Make!  Eat!  Indulge!  I did and I don’t have one ounce of chocolate guilt.

Recipe adapted from Nigella Lawson:

FOR THE CAKE:

  • 200g plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 50g cocoa
  • 275g caster sugar
  • 175g soft unsalted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon real vanilla extract
  • 80ml sour cream
  • 125ml boiling water
  • 175g dark chocolate chips (unless you’d prefer milk)

FOR THE SYRUP:

  • 1 teaspoon cocoa
  • 125ml water
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 25g dark chocolate (from a thick bar if possible)

Paris Chocolate by rvacapinta

METHOD

  1. Take whatever you need out of the fridge so that all ingredients can come to room temperature.
  2. Preheat the oven to gas mark 3/170°C (converted to 340F), putting in a baking sheet as you do so, and line a 900g loaf tin (mine measures 21x11cm and 7.5cm deep and the cooking times are based on that) with greased foil – making sure there are no tears – and leave an overhang all round. Or use a silicon tin.
  3. Put the flour, bicarb, cocoa, sugar, butter, eggs, vanilla and sour cream into the processor and blitz till a smooth, satiny brown batter. Scrape down with a rubber spatula and process again while pouring the boiling water down the funnel. Switch it off then remove the lid and the well-scraped double-bladed knife and, still using your rubber spatula, stir in the chocolate chips or morsels.
  4. Scrape and pour this beautiful batter into the prepared loaf tin and slide into the oven, cooking for about 1 hour. When it’s ready, the loaf will be risen and split down the middle and a cake-tester, or a fine skewer, will pretty well come out clean. But this is a damp cake so don’t be alarmed at a bit of stickiness in evidence; rather, greet it.
  5. Not long before the cake is due out of the oven – say when it’s had about 45-50 minutes – put the syrup ingredients of cocoa, water and sugar into a small saucepan and boil for 5 minutes. You may find it needs a little longer: what you want is a reduced liquid, that’s to say a syrup, though I often take it a little further, so that the sugar caramelizes and the syrup has a really dark, smokey chocolate intensity.
  6. Take the cake out of the oven and sit it on a cooling rack and, still in its tin, pierce here and there with a cake tester. Then pour the syrup as evenly as possible, which is not very, over the surface of the cake. It will run to the sides of the tin, but some will be absorbed in the middle.

  1. Let the cake become completely cold and then slip out of its tin, removing the foil as you do so. Sit on an oblong or other plate. Now take your bar of chocolate, wrapped in foil if you haven’t got much of its wrapper left, and cut with a heavy sharp knife, so that it splinters and flakes and falls in slices of varying thickness and thinness.
  2. I’ve specified a weight, but really go by eye: when you think you’ve got enough to scatter over the top of the loafcake, stop slicing. Sprinkle these chocolate splinters over the top of the sticky surface of the cake.
Serves: Makes 10 generous slices
25 responses to “Seduced By Chocolate ~ Quadruple Chocolate Cake

  1. OMG……honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like this. What an incredible cake, I can only imagine how it tasted. I’ve never made any of Nigella’s recipes and would love to give this a try (when I have lots of people to share with, lol). Thank you so much for sharing this lucious cake with Cookbook Sundays!

  2. Quadruple indeed…this is an amazing chocolate cake. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. You have a great week end with this work of art!

  3. YUM! This would be great anytime of course, but with Valentines Day approaching this would be great. Thanks.

  4. We should never, never apologized for having chocolate… and oh boy does it look scrumptious. And it’s from Nigella, she makes everything good.

  5. That’s a serious chocolate stash! And a lovely gooey cake… Thank you for taking part in Forever Nigella!

  6. Chocolate…my favorite!!! The cake looks amazing!

  7. Denise

    My oh my. That chocolate almost looked too pretty to eat. I can only imagine how it tastes.

  8. Just OH DEAR GOD! I am drooling on my keyboard …. wow, I need to make this, ty ty ty!

    I am stopping by from tasty Tuesday, come take a look at my recipe if ya can 🙂

    http://xsurvivingmotherhoodx.blogspot.com/2011/02/oreo-cookie-bark.html

  9. MJ

    Your photos are amazing! I found you on the Tasty Tuesday and I have to say that I think I love you 🙂

  10. Oh my gosh – looks like you have a chocolate stash that even Nigela would envy. I would seriously love a slice of this cake – it looks positively divine. Have bookmarked this for a definite “must try”.

    Sue 🙂

  11. Thanks for sharing this on our RecipeLion Facebook page! Oh my this really just made my mouth water.
    Wow.

    Thanks and I’d love to link to your recipes in the future. Also you should so stop by our blog hop next Friday the 18th. Ever done one before? It’s a great way to link up. 🙂

    -Sarah
    Editor
    http://blog.recipelion.com

  12. jen

    I’m really not sure where to begin…with the chocolate, or the chocolate, or the chocolate! This looks amazing! My husband is drooling over my shoulder as I read this! Thanks for linking up to Made From Scratch Tuesday!

  13. Your photos alone have me drooling. Yum!

    I’m hosting a weekly link up called Sweet Tooth Friday. I’d love to have you share your recipe. http://alli-n-son.com/2011/02/10/spicy-chocolate-chip-cookies/

  14. This is brilliance, well done.

  15. Wow, this looks beautiful! Perfect for upcoming Valentine’s Day! Thanks for sharing with Friday Firsts! 🙂

  16. Looking amazingly chocolatey! This would be a perfect recipe for me to make for the girls at work who are all chocoholics.

  17. This looks SOOO decadent! Nothing says I Love You like chocolate! Thanks for linking up.

  18. i have this booked marked and will be trying this one out

  19. I always love a good chocolate cake! Looks yummy!

    Thanks for linking up for Friday Favorites last week!

  20. Sumptuous is the first word that springs to mind when I see this gloriously gooey cake. I want some are the next….

  21. Wow! I could dive into that chocolatey goodness.

  22. Pingback: Featured Blog: Sense of Home | *Mangoes and Chutney*

  23. Hi Nice photos…uupppsss mouthwater on my keyboard 🙂 Thanks and Good luck

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

{Random food and photos}
