French Fridays with Dorie ~ Basque Potato Tortilla

We love Frittata.  We often make them for Sunday brunch.  Hash-brown potatoes on the side or mix it up with a simple salad.  A great guest brunch…the variations are endless.

Guess what I make when my husband is traveling?  Yep, a frittata…usually with tomato, spinach and a bit of feta.  There is something so comforting about breakfast for dinner.  Simple too!

This week, we are having a Basque Potato Tortilla from Around My French Table (Dorie Greenspan). Similar to a frittata with a twist or two.  The potatoes are browned and added to the egg mixture not served on the side.  I like this…simple one dish preparation.  I also like that I don’t have to utilize my non existent omelette flipping skills.

I made a few changes…instead of diced potatoes, I sliced them thin with a mandolin and I added asparagus.  I think it turned out just lovely and it tasted fantastic!  Golden and puffy out of the oven, thin and crispy potatoes on the bottom and fresh asparagus on the top.  Just as simple and as good as any frittata I have ever had.  Simple and tasty!

PS. If you wondering why there is no recipe, club rules frown on posting recipes from Dorie’s new book.  BUT…it is such a great cookbook that you will want to add it to your collection. Buy or borrow the book and join the French Fridays with Dorie group.  Buy the book:  Around My French Table (Dorie Greenspan)

10 responses to “French Fridays with Dorie ~ Basque Potato Tortilla

  1. Very nice looking tortilla! Im glad you liked it! My family really enjoyed this one! AND yes… it’s easy and tasty!!

  2. Michelle.. looks sooo pretty, love the idea of adding the asparagus (because its one of my favorites)… I did not do this one this week.. but now, I thinking of making your version for Sunday brunch.

  3. Liz

    Lovely tortilla! Those spokes of asparagus make a gorgeous presentation!!!

  4. That is absolutely beautiful! Agreed – the asparagus was a nice addition (and slicing the potatoes thin with the mandolin).

  5. Wow the sunburst pattern of the asparagus looks so pretty

  6. LaJuana

    Gorgeous! The asparagus was genius!

  7. Asparagus! Great idea and it looks beautiful.

  8. love the asparagus! Can’t wait till it is in season up here.

  9. That tortilla looks amazing! Very photogenic:) I made it, we enjoyed it, I photographed it, but had no time to write about it. There is always the next time.
    Yes, asparagus would be a great addition. Thanks for the idea!

  10. Pingback: A Meatless Journey, New Cookbooks and Chickpea Spinach Stew « {On and Off My Plate}

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

{Random food and photos}
