Cookbook Challenge (Citrus) ~ Key Lime Sour Cream Tart

The challenge was citrus.

I knew I didn’t want to use the usual suspects: oranges, lemons or grapefruit.  I also knew that I wouldn’t be able to get my hands on kumquats, pummelos, leech limes, or uglis.  I could use clementines, tangerines or satsuma mandarins.  I had just brought home a bag of satsuma mandarins.  But…I had other plans for them (teaser ~ a french almond orange tart ~ more on that later).

Having just returned from Miami Beach, I couldn’t get the deep-fried frozen key lime pie out of my mind.  Yes, deep fried…sounds crazy but it worked…worked very well.  A splurge for sure!  A tasty twist on the official pie of the great state of Florida.

I would pay tribute to the key lime.

Using The Professional Pastry Chef as a guide, I set off to make a lighter version of the original.  I hate to say this but I am not a huge meringue fan (there, I said it) so I topped it off with lime scented sour cream.

It wasn’t deep-fried or frozen but it sure was good.  Two slices good!  Breakfast and lunch good!

Ingredients:

Serves 8

  • 9 to 10 graham crackers (each 2 1/2 by 5 inches)
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 can (14 ounces) non fat sweetened condensed milk
  • 3/4 cup fresh or bottled key lime juice ( I used Nellie & Joe’s Famous Key Lime Juice )
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • Pinch salt

Topping:

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Process graham crackers and 2 tablespoons sugar in a food processor until fine crumbs form, add butter. Process until combined. Transfer mixture to a 9-inch tart pan with a removable bottom, pat into bottom and up sides. Place pan on a baking sheet, and bake until crust is fragrant and slightly colored, about 10 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine condensed milk, lime juice, egg yolks, remaining 1/2 cup sugar, and salt; whisk until smooth. Pour mixture into crust (warm or cool is fine), leaving 1/2 inch at the top; return to oven. Bake until filling is set around edge but still slightly loose in center, 20 to 25 minutes.
  3. Cool completely at room temperature, then refrigerate until chilled, at least 2 hours.
  4. Once chilled, combine the sour cream, powdered sugar and lime zest and spread over the top of the pie using a spatula.
  5. Eat!  (If you must store longer, cover and refrigerate, up to 2 days.)

Linked to:

Eat At Home

Wander Wednesday

7 responses to “Cookbook Challenge (Citrus) ~ Key Lime Sour Cream Tart

  1. oohhhh… that looks fantastic!!

  2. Hmm.. key lime.. I always drool over this whenever I see it in a recipe book so thanks for the lighter version. I don’t think I have ever seen a key lime at our markets.. don’t know if they ever made it over to our shores but regular limes/lemons will do – not the same but hope results are still good.

  3. Hello, thanks so much for joining Sweet Sweet Fridays. This looks gorgeous – and funnily enough, one of the recipes I have been asked to find next is a key lime pie from a local restaurant. Perhaps I should just direct them here instead!
    Hope to see you again soon, Lucy

  4. Oh that looks divine! I love key lime. Yum!

  5. I think you’ve been successful in paying tribute to the key lime – this looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

{Random food and photos}
