Dinner For One ~ Asparagus, Egg and Truffle

When Mister is on business travel or has a late dinner meeting, I usually turn to eggs for a quick dinner. I have never been a bowl of cereal at dinner girl and enjoy my time in the kitchen too much to just pour dinner in a bowl.  Dinner for one doesn’t have to be complicated or time consuming.  A few key ingredients in the pantry and refrigerator make all difference.

Eggs and asparagus are a match made in heaven, eggs and truffle are a match made in heaven and the tomato was perfect…so perfect that I went back to the kitchen for a piece of whole grain bread to get every bit of the tomato juice and truffle oil from the plate.

When you find yourself alone, indulge in this simple, elegant and truffle decadent dish for one.

I always have Truffle Oil and Truffle Salt on hand.  For me, there is nothing as wonderful as the taste and aroma of truffles and while truffle products are a bit expensive, a little goes a long way in elevating a dish from drab to divine!

Ingredients for One:

6 steamed asparagus spears
1 poached or lightly fried egg
1/2 tomato, sliced thin
Pinch of black truffle sea salt
Teaspoon of truffle oil

Preparation:

Layer asparagus and tomato on plate and drizzle with truffle oil. Place egg on top and sprinkle with truffle salt and a pinch of ground pepper.  This dish also works very well with hard-boiled eggs, sliced or chopped and sprinkled on top of the asparagus and tomato slices.

This also makes an elegant brunch or salad dish.

Truffles are wonderful in risotto and pasta as well.  I recently made a Lobster Mushroom and Truffle Risotto and there wasn’t a grain of rice left.  I owe that to the truffle!

Linked to:

Real Food Wednesday, What’s On Your Plate, Works for Me Wednesday, Sweet and Savory WednesdayWelcome Wednesday, Wandering WednesdayGold Star Wednesday, What’s Cooking Wednesday, Raising Homemakers, Potluck Wednesday, Let’s Do Brunch, What I Ate Wednesday, At Home with Haley, No Whine Wednesday, What’s For Lunch Wednesday.

8 responses to “Dinner For One ~ Asparagus, Egg and Truffle

  1. Love that you can see the way the yolk has dripped on to the tomato.

  2. You are so much better than me. I cook for just me all the time, but by “cook” I mean eat chocolate and sunflower butter for dinner.

  3. I too am a HUGE HUGE fan of the white truffle oil! So worth “investing” in some because as you mention…very little goes a long way! It’s a secret ingredient for sure! I need to get the salt as I have never tried!!

    I love this dish, it’s simple, beautiful and full of flavor! …not to mention super healthy

  4. Thanks so much for posting to What’s On the Menu Wednesday at Dining With Debbie. I love truffles, but I don’t own a bank:) I (about once a year) buy a small amount and bury it in rice. The rice picks up the flavor so I get to enjoy it for a longer period of time. One of our local restaurants used to make a lobster truffle bisque that was amazingly good. I would really like to recreate that…maybe I should go rob a bank????? I, too, keep truffle oil on hand. It imparts such great flavor in small doses.

  5. What a seriously beautiful dinner for one! I love the photographs too. I was lucky enough to sample some fresh shaved white truffle in a lobster salad a couple of weeks ago at a very special restaurant in London. There is really nothing like them, and truffle oil and salt are the perfect compliment to the egg, tomato and asparagus in your dish. Thank you so much for linking this to Let’s Do Brunch.

  6. This is a favorite at our home. We love asparagus with soft egg. Thank you for sharing, Hugs!

  7. Amy

    Beautiful dish! I always make roasted asparagus and poached eggs for brunch. :) I say great minds think alike! LOL

    I’m hosting a tea sampler GIVEAWAY on my blog. Please hop over to enter if you’re interested. Have a wonderful day.

    Amy

    http://utry.it

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

{Random food and photos}
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

