Pumpkin Cranberry and Nutella Pound Cake

I am on a Nutella kick.  Nutella on toast, on bananas, in banana bread, in cream cheese, in yogurt….a Nutella sammie…u get the idea.  So I thought, hey, maybe a pumpkin Nutella pound cake in honor of National Pound Cake Day! Pound cakes are traditionally heavy and a bit fat laden so I lighted up this recipe with applesauce and Stevia which made room for those few extra Nutella calories.  Brilliant!

Recipe adapted from Taste of Home.

Recipe Notes:  I replaced half of the oil with applesauce, replaced one cup of sugar with Stevia (for baking), added 1/4 cup dried cranberries and swirled a 1/4 cup of melted Nutella into the batter once it was in the pan.

Results:  Very moist with a small ribbon of creamy Nutella and a tart pop of cranberry here and there.

Ingredients:

  • 2-1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 can (15 ounces) solid-pack pumpkin
  • Confectioners’ sugar

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, combine sugar (or Stevia), applesauce (if substituting for oil) and oil until blended. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and cloves; add to egg mixture alternately with pumpkin, beating well after each addition.
  • Transfer to a greased 10-in. fluted tube pan. Bake at 350° for 60-65 minutes or until toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes before inverting onto a wire rack. Remove pan and cool completely. Dust with confectioners’ sugar.
  • I made a simple yogurt topping of 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 2 tablespoons confectioners sugar and a tablespoon of Nutella.  Stir and chill until ready to use.
  • Yield: 12-16 servings.

Linked to: Sweets for a Saturday, Saturday Swap, Tatertots and Jello, At the Picket Fence, Decidedly Healthy, Sundae Scoop, Hodgepodge Friday, Cookbook SundaysRecipe Swap SundayPotluck SundaySundays at One, Not Baaad Sundays, Seasonal Sundays, Mouthwatering Mondays, Sumos Sweet Stuff, Something I Whipped Up, Made By You Monday, Whipperberry Friday Flair, Homemaker Mondays, Your Recipe, My Kitchen, Eats Well with Others, Meals on MondayFriday 1ST, Happy Housewife, All Things Related, Tasty Tuesday, Sweet Tooth Friday

14 responses to “Pumpkin Cranberry and Nutella Pound Cake

  1. I love pumpkin cake and adding Nutella to it sounds like a super idea. Your cake must have really been doubly delicious. Thanks for linking this up to Sweets for a Saturday.

  2. What a great combination of flavours – I love the sound of your cake! The idea of the dried cranberries combined with the nutella and pumpkin – yum!

    Following you on Twitter from Feed Me Tweet Me Follow Me Home. Thank you for linking up!

  3. The top of that cake looks beautiful! I bet it is yummy.

    megan
    craftycpa.blogspot.com

  4. I love pound cakes because they can be eaten anytime. Even for breakfast! :o) I bet it’s fabulous with the Nutella swirled in. What a great idea. Thank you so much for sharing with Cookbook Sundays and I hope you’ll come back next month!

  5. Michelle, this is a beautiful pound cake! I love it. And it has nutella, seriously…this has to be delicious. By the way gorgeous photos. Thanks for joining us at Sundays at One. Hope to see you next week.

    • Michelle

      Angie…thanks for the comments. Nutella is so addicting…I am glad the jar is finally finished. I need to wait a bit before I replace it!

  6. Stopping by from Cookbook Sundays, to say hello and let you know this looks delicious! Yeah, another bundt style cake. I cannot seem to get enough of these, thanks for sharing.

  7. I think I have been on a Nutella kick for the past five years…hahaha. That stuff is sooo good and very addictive! I am always looking for new ways to incorporate Nutella into my baking. This cake looks great!

  8. I feel the same way about nutella. I have been trying it in everything I could think of. I didn’t think of this but now it’s on my list of things to make. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Sue

    What a flavorful ans beautiful cake. It sounds phenomenal!

  10. What a beautiful cake and pumpkin is always so moist in cakes and breads. Thanks for sharing with the decidedly healthy or horridly decandent hop!

  11. Good morning! I just wanted to let you know that this is in my oven, as I type. :) Thanks for the wonderful looking recipe. I’m so excited to try it.

  12. Oh this looks so yummy! I came over from Lamb Around and I wanted to let you know that I have a blog hop too on Sundays: Savory Sunday, and I’d love if you came over and shared a recipe! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

{Random food and photos}
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

