Smoked Salmon, Pear and Pecan Salad

This is a staple in our house.  I have made this with salmon, trout, sea bass and tilapia.  I also use whatever fruit I happen to have in the house or what is in season…apples, strawberries and blackberries.  This really is a recipe that you can experiement with and always have great results.  I serve this for brunch for my fish loving friends.  The addition of chipotle or other chili powder in the dressing gives it a nice kick and counter to the sweetness of the fruit.

Adapted from Cooking Light.

Recipe Note – In the winter months, I use a Camerons Stovetop Smoker which works very well.  They have both a small and a large size and I own and use both depending on the quantity I need to smoke. The smoker is also great for chicken, meat, veggies and cheese. When I don’t feel like smoking the fish, I use a heavenly Alderwood Smoked Sea Salt from the Savory Spice Shop (they ship) and bake the fish until it flakes.

The Sea Salt is smoked over Northwest alder wood and is a true “smoked” salt. No artificial flavoring has been added and it is 100% natural. For hundreds of years alder wood has been used to smoke salmon and other meats and truly is a Northwest American tradition. {I am not compensated or affiliated with the Savory Spice Shop…I simply love the shop as they have unique spices and grind them weekly for max freshness.}


Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 3 cups salad, 1 fillet, and 1 1/2 teaspoons nuts)

Ingredients:

  • 2  cups  wood chips
  • 3  tablespoons  fresh lemon juice
  • 1  teaspoon  prepared horseradish
  • 4  (6-ounce) rainbow trout fillets
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt, divided
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper, divided
  • 2  tablespoons  white wine vinegar
  • 1  tablespoon  walnut oil or olive oil
  • 1/4  teaspoon  chili powder
  • 8  cups  mixed salad greens (I used a spinach and arugula)
  • 4 cups  thinly sliced pear
  • 1  cup  thinly sliced red onion
  • 2  tablespoons  chopped pecans, toasted
Preparation:
Soak wood chips in water 30 minutes, and drain well.

Combine lemon juice, horseradish, and fillets in a large zip-top plastic bag. Seal and marinate in refrigerator 20 minutes, turning bag occasionally.

Smoking Fish:

Prepare grill for indirect grilling, heating one side to low and leaving one side with no heat. Maintain temperature at 200° to 225°.

Place wood chips on hot coals. Place a disposable aluminum foil pan on unheated side of grill. Pour 2 cups water in pan. Coat grill rack with cooking spray; place on grill. Remove fillets from bag; discard marinade. Sprinkle fillets with 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Place fillets on grill rack over foil pan on unheated side. Close lid; cook 30 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until desired degree of doneness.

Combine remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, remaining 1/4 teaspoon pepper, vinegar, oil, and chili powder, stirring with a whisk. Combine greens, pears and onion in a large bowl; drizzle with vinaigrette. Toss gently to coat. Remove skin from fillets; discard skin. Break fillets into pieces; serve over salad. Sprinkle with nuts.

Linked to: Miz Helen’s Country Cottage, Tasty TraditionsCooking Thursday, A Little Bit of Spain in Iowa, Frugal FolliesStrut Your Stuff, Recipe Swap Thursday, Let’s Do Brunch, It’s a Keeper, Pennywise Platter, Fantastic FridayTatertots and Jello, I’m Lovin it Friday, Friday Potluck, Family Friendly Friday, Fat Camp Friday, Fun with Food Friday, Food Trip Friday, Foodie Friday, Food on Friday, Saturday Swap, Simply Sweet Home, Katie’s Cucina, Sweet Tooth Friday, Friday Favorites, Feature Yourself Friday, Whipperberry Friday FlairFrugal Friday, Sweet Saturday, Mouthwatering Monday, Decidedly Healthy

12 responses to “Smoked Salmon, Pear and Pecan Salad

  1. Wow, Michelle, your post is so timely. Salmon season is here and I was just thinking of smoked salmon. I haven’t smoked anything and looks like I’m off to try it for the first time.

    Thank you for sharing this delicious, healthy recipe!

  2. Carole

    I really would like the try the alder sea salt. This looks so good and pretty easy to prepare.

  3. What unique recipe! I think this would be fabulous. I love the fresh and healthy ingredients that you use. I don’t have a stovetop smoker but I would love to get one someday. Smoked salmon is one of my favorite foods ever and now that I live in New England, I think we will be having trout more often. That hasn’t been so available to me in Louisiana. I will have to look for smoked salt. I love it that it’s smoked and not loaded with artificial flavor. Thank you for sharing your recipe and ideas for the smoker and for the salt.

  4. Yummy! I just had grilled Salmon yesterday!!!

  5. I love Savory Spice Shop! I’m impressed that you do your own smoking! I love this recipe… it looks fantastic and has a fantastic changeability depending on the season! Thanks so much for linking up to Friday Potluck!

  6. Oh Michelle…girl, this Smoked Salmon looks amazing. I really wish I had this served to me for lunch, it would be so good. Thank you so much for sharing at Full Plate Thursday and please come back!

  7. Salmon is my husband’s favorite. I am bookmarking this for our next pear harvest – it will be a delightful treat!

  8. looks really delicious…thanks for sharing your recipe. love to try it someday! have a great weekend! :)

    PinayMum – Mommy’s Life Around…

  9. Oh, I would so love a smoker! Smoked fish is one of the most delicious (savoury) things in the world :)

    • Michelle

      The small stovetop smoker is great and really easy to use…put in a few wood chips (comes with starter kit) and put it on the stove…30 minutes later…fresh smoked anything!

  10. im not sure if we have some of the ingredients here, lemme check in waitrose. Thanks for the share, i love salmon very much and this is another good way of serving it

    Happy Foodtripping, check out my entry too
    Food and Passion
    I Love Darly!

  11. Thanks for linking this to Let’s Do Brunch. You have the best recipes here. I must spend more time here.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

{Random food and photos}
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

